Positive progress

After many months of not getting anywhere, this week I made contact with both Parent Partnership and our local Autism advisory service.

Within two days of making contact both of them have been busily sending emails and making calls on my behalf.

And progress is happening.

The first thing to note is that I have phoned Olivers sen caseworker every other day for three weeks and she is never available to take my calls, she has however been available each time the PP (parent partnership) and the AAS (autism advisory service) have called. As if by magic!

The PP have requested in writing the direct responses from the school that have said they cant meet Ollies needs, and we know now that within the next two weeks Ollies case will be going to panel.

The PP have asked me to address the panel in a statement, explaining why I want Ollie to get a place at the particular ASD unit I want. (my reasons are that its completely perfect for him, but I shall elaborate on that in my statement).The PP will read through my statement before I hand it in to make sure I’ve said the right things and also I guess to ensure its not complete rubbish, then off to the panel it will go.

I’m aware that there is still the possibility that Ollie wont get into the unit I want but now I have hope, real hope. And if he doesn’t then I wont be alone in taking the next steps.

For the first time in a long time I’m feeling quite positive about this whole thing.

I’m a massively relieved that PP and the AAS are on board, I’ve heard nothing but good things about them.

The AAS also runs coffee mornings for parents of children with autism where you can meet other similar parents and they also give talks and presentations , I’m going to make a big effort to go along to some of these.

Its been a long time coming but things are happening, good things and I’m feeling very positive about going forward.
via WordPress for Phone http://goo.gl/j6Fzhf

3 Comments

Every time you comment a fairy gets her wings , please help the fairies 😊

