Love, its in all the little things

love , its in all the little things.
I’m taking part in the theme game again over at http://www.thereadingresidence.com/ this week the theme is love
I always say I love you to the kids before They leave for school in the morning, before we go to bed, often for no reason, but now they are mostly teens I don’t always hear it back. It doesn’t trouble me, they are teenagers, its not cool to tell your parents you love them, sometimes its just not easy…

For me love is …
A hug offered when they come in the door , even when accompanied by ” come on then , you can have a hug”

A dime bar, bought as a surprise for me with their left over school money.

A cup of tea when I’m not feeling well.

Coming in the kitchen with me at night ( every night) because I’m convinced I will see a mouse again one day.

Going into the kitchen before me first thing in the morning ( the mouse thing again, I will never get over it)

Dancing with me in the kitchen.

Turning the radio up when a song they know I love comes on.

The salute Im given every night in return when I say “goodnight love you” because sometimes its just hard to say it back.

The list goes on and on. Its all the little things.

There is arguing in my house , shouting , sometimes door slamming and always nagging but we also have a house full of love, its there in all the little things.

The Reading Residence
8 Comments

  1. Pingback: The Theme Game - Blogging | The Reading Residence

  2. So lovely. All these love posts are making me feel all sentimental! And you are so right that it is the little things that let us know that we are loved – I think your kids sound fantastic. The arguing and door slamming is all par for the course with teens, but it’s clear that they love you very much x

  3. Lovely post, I totally agree with you. It’s the little things we do and share everyday. I hope my home is filled with as much love as yours when my two get older. #thethemegame
    By the way, I’m probably being silly and missing it, but do you have a Twitter account? I’d like to share it but can’t spot anything. You can contact me via my blog http://www.redpeffer.me.uk

Every time you comment a fairy gets her wings , please help the fairies ๐Ÿ˜Š

