My prime five : things to do in the sunshine

I’m linking up with http://tantrumsandglitter.blogspot.co.uk again for My Prime Five, this time its things to do in the sunshine.
I’ll be honest, this is not the easiest post for me because I’m not a fan of summer, there, I said it! I don’t enjoy the heat atall, I’m an autumn winter kinda girl but although you will never catch me sunbathing, lets face it heat stroke and sun burn is never a good look, I do like to be outdoors and being outdoors is generally easier if the weather’s nice.
So lets see if I can come up with 5.

I like to walk, even with my stiff arthritis riddled legs I really do enjoy a nice long walk , my mum lives by the river and we live by wimbledon common so I love to take the kids and the dog for a walk, if we go along the river we inevitably end up at mcdonalds and if we go to the common we are likely to end up at the windmill…

Which leads me to the second thing…I like ice cream, and I like to eat ice cream outside on a sunny day (in the shade obvs) if we end up at mcdonalds I can enjoy a yummy mcflurry , if we go to the windmill I can eat an equally yummy but massively over priced ice cream.

I like to gather up the kids, a few snacks, and the picnic rug and head to one of our local parks, we are lucky that we live in between four lovely parks.
We sit ourselves in a quiet spot (for Ollie) in the shade (for me) and the kids can left off some steam splashing about in the water, and in the giant sand pits (you’d be surprised that even the bigger ones can enjoy digging around in the sand a bit) whilst they are doing all the fun I can sit and read a book, which is always my favourite thing to do.

Paddling in the sea on a hot day is something I like to do, who doesn’t? Trousers rolled up, flip flops in hand, but I don’t get to a beach nearly often enough , the last time was 2 years ago when I took the kids on holiday to the seaside.

On a really hot day my absolutely favourite thing to do is pull the curtains closed to keep the pesky hot sun out, put the fan on, aimed directly at my face and read a book while also watching Friends all day long and dreaming of cooler times when I can wrap myself up in a cardigan again .

What do you like to do in the sunshine , why not join in the linky?

Tantrums and Glitter
1 Comment

Every time you comment a fairy gets her wings , please help the fairies 😊

