Blogology

Im joining in with the theme game again. This week the theme is blogging. I am a blogger, I blog….I’m not a big important blogger, just me blogging when I get a bit of time, i’ll be honest I usually blog in bed, in the dark on the ipad because as you may know it can take a long time for Ollie to settle to sleep. I spend an hour maximum on my blog every day, somedays just a few minutes if I’m just posting a photo, I’ve never written a draft in my life, who actually has time for that?
I like blogs, I like bloggers, and I like to read blogs, Parent blogs mostly, not parenting I don’t want tips, I want to know that other parents are also winging it.
Giveaway blogs and review blogs ( not blogs with a few reviews thrown in) are not my thing….thats just me.
The thing is sometimes I read blogs and I cant help but think ” calm the f@&k down”
Heres the thing… I don’t care or mind why you blog, you may blog because you make a living from it, you may do it because you like all the free stuff you get from reviewing , it may be your way of recording your childs life or like many you may profess to blog because you just like to write and don’t mind whether anyone reads it or not , now, I am one of these people, I do it because its something to do mostly while I wait for Ollie to sleep and because I like having my own space where I can write whatever the heck I like,but I see bloggers that actually beg for reviews, beg to become ambassadors and throw their toys out of the pram when they don’t get what they want. You’re not really blogging for fun or for yourself if you get so irate about it .
Some bloggers seem to review everything and I mean everything they use, from make up to food to cushions to toys, I see people review things that are completely irrelevant to them, sometimes I read them and think jeez put the blog down and take your kid out to the park to play with a stick in a puddle, just don’t review it.
Then there are the linkys , yes I have two linkys, both small things which have a small loyal following and I have a small list of linkys I enjoy taking part in but some bloggers….well, if theres a linky they are there, they are on it like a car bonnet, if a linky opens at midnight they are there waiting watching the time desperate to be the first person linked up, they will write anything just to be able to link up.Calm down, pick a few linkys you like, pick some that fit you, link up at some point before closing time, its not a race….*whispers* i think its a little sad to wait for midnight to desperately BE THE FIRST.
Then the stats and rankings,you know, the ones the nobody cares about, yet will announce when they’ve moved up and have a hissy fit when they have moved down.
If you’re blogging for you, for fun stats and rankings aren’t important, don’t get bogged down in stressing about them.
I was on a ranking site, I removed myself and I’m enjoying my blog more now.
Unless your blog is what makes you a living, calm down, don’t review everything don’t beg for opportunities, desperate is never a good look and don’t see it as a competition, a race. There is enough room out there for all of us.
If you cant go a few hours without checking your stats, drafting posts, writing a review, writing comments on fifty posts just so they all comment back on yours then you’re probably not having fun with your blog.
Step back …..

blogging is a thing , but its not everything .

The Reading Residence
9 Comments

  1. So succinctly put! At times I wish I was more laid back about the whole blogging ‘thang’. That’s not to say that I get myself stressed about posting (I missed posting to an old favourite last week because I simply ran out of time and it would’ve felt forced – I felt quite proud…). So no, I don’t be stressed about posting but I do enjoy giving myself the challenge of writing, posting, commenting, sharing – the whole shebang. For me, that’s why I blog. To enjoy for me and for others to enjoy too. You’ve made some great points here, although I need structure in my blogging world…

  2. I haven’t really read any blogs which do the whole begging thing – I’m with you that endless reviews tend to turn me off a bit, especially if the products are not my cup of tea anyway. I always tend to think, even if I like something reviewed – well I’m not going to buy that now when you got it for free! Silly but true 🙂 I’m still trying to get the balance with the linkys for definite… #TheThemeGame

  3. I blog a lot! I join in with a fair few linkys, along with running them, and I do earn an income from it. That said, I cringe when I see the begging and get continually surprised by the ‘throwing the toys out of the pram’ thing, so I can understand where you’re coming from. It’s a powerful thing this blogging malarkey! Thanks for sharing and joining in with #thethemegame x

  4. I think it can be easy to get a little caught up in the whole blogging, ranking, stats thing. Honestly, I’m rarely asked about my stats and I believe (and hope) that all genuine approaches to my blog are made because they like what they see and read. That’s how I would like it to be. Although part of my blog is also a shop window for me, the freelance writer, so I do have to bear that in mind but I write because I want to and because I enjoy it. #thethemegame

Every time you comment a fairy gets her wings , please help the fairies 😊

