Coriander quorn curry

Today I made curry, I used quorn instead of chicken, my older boys are usually not keen when I use quorn so I was interested to see whether it would get eaten.

I used..
One packet quorn chicken style pieces
1 medium onion , chopped
I big spoon of ready chopped ginger ( very lazy ginger, in a jar)
Two tins of chopped peeled tomatoes
1 tablespoon of madras curry powder
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon ground coriander
1 tablespoon ground fennel seeds
1/4 block of creamed coconut
1 large handful fresh chopped coriander
Enough rice for 4

the 16 year old doesnt like chicken or quorn chicken so i cook the chicken pieces separately from the sauce then add them at the end after taking some sauce out, and because my kids are very fussy about sauce being smooth I blend the sauce before the quorn goes in, the things we do eh!

So, this is how I made it.

Melt some butter in a pan and cook the chopped onion till soft.
Add the ginger, curry paste and spices, stir well for a couple of minutes, then add the tomatoes, leave to simmer for twenty minutes.
While thats cooking I fry the quorn pieces in some butter until they are just going a bit brown.

I then blended the sauce, put it back in the pan and added the quorn, the coconut and the fresh coriander.
I let it cook for a while while the rice was cooking, just to let the quorn get flavoury and then served it with the rice, some warm naan bread and onion bhajiis .

Aside from the whole blending thing its incredibly easy to make (I prefer it blended because the flavours are all….well, blended)

It went down well with everybody, my two older boys (the ones not keen on quorn) had empty plates, as did myself and Ollie.
Ollie gave my curry 9 and a 1/4 out of ten πŸ‘

IMG_0988-1.PNG

I got my inspiration for this from ” coriander chicken curry in a book called Norahs dinners, over the years I’ve adjusted the amounts of the spices to suit us

Every time you comment a fairy gets her wings , please help the fairies 😊

